I’ve Been “Billed” With A More Homework Meme

While I still might have homework that leaves work with me every night, very seldom do I receive any assignments from my PLN.  So, I will say that it is a special privilege to be given this homework assignment from Bill Ferriter (@plugusin).

So, even though this was more difficult than I thought it would be, I want to thank Bill for the opportunity to share a little more about myself and open up the doors for others to share more about themselves and their life beyond the social media landscape.

The first task was to share eleven random facts that readers of my blog probably don’t know about me:

1. I had not planned on going to college, I was going to go with a friend to the Guitar Institute in Hollywood, CA.

2. My best friend from the age of 2 plays guitar in the band Machine Head.

3. I played guitar in a band with that friend in high school…and the brother of our bass player was the singer for the band Exodus.

4. I like really loud music…lots of guitar.

5. I now play guitar in our praise band in church each Sunday.

6. Even though I am from California, my favorite sport is ice hockey and I used to play in several leagues in my area.

7. My other favorite sport is soccer…played on several traveling teams growing up.

8. A few times a year I serve as the substitute (provide the message) when our pastor is away or on vacation.

9. I usually have anywhere from 5 to 15 books going at one time…I struggle to stay with just one book at one time.  And I lose interest in reading a book if it is assigned to me (still have that rebellious streak).

10. It is sometimes hard to fathom how I ended up in education (a miracle)…I did not enjoy school and was not what you would call a winner of the system.

11. I’ve never really had a life plan…God just seems to open doors when the time is right.

My second task is to respond to the eleven questions from Bill:

1. Grande Soy Green Tea Frappuccino with Extra Whip or House Blend Black?

Definitely House Blend Black…there is few, if any times during the day that you will not find me without a cup of coffee.  Starbucks is definitely a daily ritual.

2. If you were going to write a book, what its title be?

Reimagining Leadership in Turbulent and Chaotic Times

3. Rate graphic novels on a scale of 1-10, with 1 representing “useless” and 10 representing “simply amazing.”

This is not a area of strength for me…spend most of my time reading professional literature.

4. What member of your digital network has has the greatest impact on your professional growth?

I have to start with Chris Weber (@Chi_educate).  It was his invite to Facebook that truly got me started with this digital journey and creating my digital footprint.  There are so many incredible educators, thought leaders, etc. that it is hard to narrow down.  There are a lot of thank you’s necessary. I have truly appreciated your ongoing support, Bill (@plugusin). A thank you to Eric Sheninger (NMHS_Principal) for the opportunity to do the edWeb webinar.  Still truly humbled and appreciative when anyone takes the time to read my posts.

5. How do you feel about the holidays?

It is a great time to spend with my two boys.  It is often a more reflective time for me…a time to get grounded, to remember those things that are truly important that our hectic schedules can sometimes move us away from.

6. Rate the following movies in order from best to worst: Christmas Vacation, Miracle on 34th Street, A Christmas Story, How the Grinch Stole Christmas (animated version).

Christmas Vacation, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, A Christmas Story (still haven’t seen it in its entirety), Miracle on 34th Street (which I have never seen).

7. What is the best gift that you’ve ever gotten?

I will begin with my parents (I was adopted) and not only for all that they did, but the foundation and values they instilled…and then my two boys (who are absolutely incredible).

8. If you had an extra $100 to give away to charity, who would you give it to?

I would definitely give it to Angels Closet.  A charity within one of our local high schools that provides clothes, food and other necessities for students and families.  It is like a small store, where students who may be in need of food (during the week or the weekend), or a pair of pants, shoes, shirts, etc. can just come in and get what they need…free of charge.  They also provide suits and dresses for proms, homecomings, etc. along with make-overs for the students.  Our church also supports this wonderful outreach.

9. What are you the proudest of?

The manner in which my boys treat others around them…they have incredible empathy, understanding and compassion for others.

10. What was the worst trouble that you ever got into as a child?

Really going to stay away from this one…I will say I started sneaking off campus in third grade.  My dad used to say that trouble did not have to come looking for me, I had already found it.  My running joke with my mom was that I had become a principal because the office was the place in the school that I knew best.

11. What was the last blog entry that you left a comment on?  What motivated you to leave a comment on that blog?

I have to admit…I am much more of a retweeter than a commenter.  When I read something great I tweet it on to others.  Often, if i have a comment, I will just tweet it to the person.  I am not sure why I take that approach…

My third task is to generate a list of 11 questions for 11 other bloggers to answer:

1. What is your all-time favorite book?

2. What is a favorite quote that best represents you?

3. What accomplishment is the most meaningful to you?

4. When its all said and done, what is the one thing you want to make sure you have tried or accomplished?

5. What was the best part of your school experience as a child?

6. What was the worst part of your school experience as a child?

7. If you could play in any band, which band would it be…and what instrument would you play?

8. What is your favorite thing to do outside of your work?

9. Who has or does inspire you to go beyond what you thought you could do or be?

10. What is your favorite childhood memory?

11. If you could live anywhere, where would that be and why?

My last task is to nominate 11 bloggers that I want to see join the More Homework Meme: 

1. Peter DeWitt

2. Chris Smeaton

3. Scott Rocco

4. Brad Currie

5. Shelley Burgess

6. Dave Burgess

7. Dr. Darin Jolly

8. Matt Wachel

9. Barry Saide

10. Dennis Sparks

11. Chris Weber

11+1. Jeff Zoul

Here’s how it works:

1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.

2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.

3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.

4. List 11 bloggers.

5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated.  Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.

Post back here with a link after you write this.  Go on, you have homework to do.

All the best.

3 thoughts on “I’ve Been “Billed” With A More Homework Meme

  1. Hey Pal,

    I’m super jazzed that you took the time to write this! I learned a ton about you that I didn’t know — including that you were adopted!

    At some point, I’d like to talk to you about that more offline. Not sure if you know, but my daughter is adopted and my biggest current worry/challenge/fear is trying to figure out the right time and way to let her know that we aren’t her birth parents.

    My gut tells me that sooner is better and my wife and I aren’t at all worried about being open with her, but I’m not sure what “sooner” should mean or when she’ll be developmentally ready to handle the news.

    Hope to “see” you before Christmas, but if I don’t, know that I’m sending the warmest of wishes your way.

    Rock on,
    Bill

  2. Hey Dave – means a lot to me that I was one of the people you chose. Can’t wait to get started on this. Got to go buy rock salt and a kid’s shovel (for my 3 year-old). We’re supposed to get more snow here.

    Be well,
    Barry

Leave a Reply

